Welcome!

If you’ve just found us welcome to the new research student careers blog.  My name is Sharon Maguire and I’m a careers adviser who works with research students and staff.

My colleagues in the Careers Service are forever sending me interesting pieces of information, notifying me of events, and sending job vacancies to me all of which could potentially be of interest to research students.  And then I have to think about what to do with that information!  Short of bombarding you with lots of e-mails every month, sometimes it is difficult to find a good way to communicate with PhD students.  Hence this blog. 

I’ll aim to let you know about any interesting jobs that we’re advertising (see next blog entry for your first!),  let you know what employers are saying about recruiting research students, tell you about events you may be interested in, and generally alert you to anything vaguely career-related that I think may be of use to you.

Please comment.  Tell me what you’d like more of and also what doesn’t interest you so I can be sure you’re getting what you need.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

